Categories

She-wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth download

Download She-wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth
Author: Helen Castor  |  Isbn: 9780571237067  |  File size: 2.6 MB  |  Year: 2011  |  Pages: 507  |  Language: English  |  File format: EPUB  |  Category: Biography

“Helen Castor has an exhilarating narrative gift. . . . Readers will love this book, finding it wholly absorbing and rewarding.” —Hilary Mantel, Booker Prize-winning author of Wolf Hall

In the tradition of Antonia Fraser, David Starkey, and Alison Weir, prize-winning historian Helen Castor delivers a compelling, eye-opening examination of women and power in England, witnessed through the lives of six women who exercised power against all odds—and one who never got the chance. Exploring the narratives of the Empress Matilda, Eleanor of Aquitaine, Isabella of France, Margaret of Anjou, and other “she-wolves,” as well as that of the Nine Days' Queen, Lady Jane Grey, Castor invokes a magisterial discussion of how much—and how little—has changed through the centuries.

Download book

Download She-wolves: The Women Who Ruled England Before Elizabeth

Related files

DMCA & Contact